Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Direct Line: 613-564-3010
Telephone: 613-233-4474  ext. 240
Assistant/Clerk:

JH low

John joined MBC Law's predecessor firm in 2001 and is a member of the firm's Financial Loss Recovery and Wills and Estates Law practice groups.

He has practiced law in Ottawa since 1978, primarily as a civil litigator and trial counsel.  John has conducted a great many civil trials throughout Eastern Ontario and has appeared many times in the Ontario appellate courts. He has presented at the prestigious Canadian Institute in Toronto and three times at the Civil Litigation Conference conducted by the County of Carleton Law Association. He has taught the intensive Trial Advocacy Course at the University of Ottawa's Common Law Program since January 2012.

In November 2005, John was selected as one of ten members of the newly formed Investor Advisory Committee established by the Ontario Securities Commission. During his two-year term he helped identify and address issues affecting investors.

John is responsible for the mentoring and advocacy training programs at MBC. He also includes young lawyers from other firms in his innovative Advocacy Club, which fosters both skills and collegiality. Several times each year, he trains junior litigators and articling students from several different firms. These introductory sessions introduces participants to essential advocacy skills from interview and case analysis to direct, discovery and cross-examination.  As part of the Advocacy Club, John presents more advanced sessions that train junior lawyers to deal with many advocacy subjects, including presentation techniques, discovery, mediation, case analysis, use of themes, tactical cross-examination, expert witnesses and negotiation. Club graduates now participate in the presentation of the sessions to their colleagues.

In 2016, John started to interview senior litigators about advocacy techniques and professionalism issues. He has recently started to include more junior lawyers in his web of guests. Listen to his podcasts at www.chatwithlawyers.ca.

Contact Us

MBC Law Professional Corporation
265 Carling Avenue
Suite 500
Ottawa, ON K1S 2E1
Telephone:  613-233-4474
Fax:  613-233-8868
Toll Free:  1-888-288-2033

Courriel: Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.
Ligne directe: 613-564-3010
Téléphone: 613-233-4474  ext. 240
Technicienne/Adjointe juridique:

JH low

John s’est joint au cabinet prédécesseur de MBC Law en 2001 et est un membre des équipes de pratiques des réclamations en perte financière ainsi que l'équipe des successions.

Depuis 1978, John pratique en litige à Ottawa. John a participé à plusieurs procès civils dans l’est de l’Ontario et a comparu plusieurs fois devant les cours d’appel ontariennes. Il a été conférencier devant le prestigieux groupe de L’Institut Canadien à Toronto et il a également présenté trois conférences à la Conférence en litige civil menée par l’ABCC. Depuis janvier 2012, John enseigne un cours intensif en plaidoirie à l'Université d'Ottawa dans le programme de common law.

En novembre 2005, John a été sélectionné comme membre d'un nouveau comité consultatif établit par la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l'Ontario étant composé de dix membres. Pendant deux ans, il a aidé à identifier et à faire face aux problèmes affectant des investisseurs.

John est responsable du programme de mentorat et d'apprentissage en plaidoirie dans le cabinet de MBC. Fondateur d’un club innovateur en plaidoirie, John invite les jeunes associés de cabinets locaux à se joindre au club. Le but du club est de permettre à tous de développer des compétences et la collégialité. Plusieurs fois par année, il forme de jeunes plaideurs et stagiaires en droit provenant de plusieurs firmes. Les sessions introductoires introduisent les participants à des compétences essentielles en plaidoirie en matière d’entrevue, l’analyse de cas, l’interrogatoire direct, le contre-interrogatoire et l’interrogatoire préalable. Dans le cadre du Club de Plaidoirie, John présente aussi des sessions plus avancées pour les avocats juniors en matière d’interrogatoires préalable, la médiation, l’analyse de cas, l’utilisation de thèmes, les tactiques de contre-interrogatoire, l’utilisation de témoins experts et la négociation. Les diplômés du club participent par la suite aux présentations de sessions avec leurs collègues.

En 2016, John a commencé à interroger les plaideurs chevronnés sur les techniques de plaidoirie et les débats entourant le professionnalisme. Il a récemment commencé à inclure de jeunes avocats à son réseau d’invités. Écoutez ses postcast au www.chatwithlawyers.ca.

Contactez-nous

MBC Law Professional Corporation
265, avenue Carling
bureau 500
Ottawa, ON K1S 2E1

Téléphone: 613-233-4474
Télécopieur: 613-233-8868
Sans frais: 1-888-288-2033